TWAS Council, elected by members every four years, is responsible for supervising all Academy affairs.

TWAS Fellows nominated the Council that took office in January 2023, and will serve until the end of 2026:


Quarraisha Abdool Karim (South Africa)

Immediate Past President

Mohamed H.A. Hassan (Sudan)


Africa: Olubukola O. Babalola (Nigeria)
Arab Region: Sabah AlMomin (Kuwait)
Central and South Asia: Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary (Pakistan) 
East and South-East Asia: Hou Jianguo (China)
Latin America and Caribbean: Helena B. Nader (Brazil)
North: Mohamed Jamal Deen (Canada)


Lilliam Alvarez Diaz (Cuba)


Lee Young Hee (Republic of Korea)

Council Members

Africa: Rose Leke Gana Fomban (Cameroon) 
Arab Region: Najoua Turki Kamoun (Tunisia)
Central and South Asia: Anil Kumar Gupta (India) 
East and South-East Asia: Lê Tuân Hoa (Viet Nam)
Latin America and Caribbean: Sandra Myrna Díaz (Argentina)
North: Markku Tapio Kulmala (Finland)

Ex-officio Council Member

Atish Dabholkar (India) [Director, Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)]